Google Translate:

Switch Language:

Member States

The OECS is an (11) eleven-member grouping of islands spread across the Eastern Caribbean. Together, they form a near-continuous archipelago across the eastern reaches of the Caribbean Sea. They comprise the Leeward Islands: Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Montserrat, Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands; and the Windward Islands: Dominica, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Grenada, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

OECS Protocol Member States Location IconProtocol Members: The OECS has (7) seven founding members that enjoy full membership: Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

OECS Associate Member States Location IconAssociate Members: Anguilla, The British Virgin Islands, Martinique and Guadeloupe are Associate members but are treated as full members for many of the Organisation’s activities. 

Overseas Territories: Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands and Montserrat remain overseas territories of the United Kingdom (UK). At the same time, Martinique and Guadeloupe remain overseas departments and regions of France. 

Although six of the Members were formerly colonies of the UK, there is no requirement for the Members to have been British colonies; however the close historical, cultural and economic relationships fostered by the British colonial heritage of the majority of the islands, are as much a factor in their membership of the OECS as their geographical proximity. All, except Dominica, a Republic, Martinique and Guadeloupe, French departments, retained King Charles the Third of Britain as their head of state.

Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda Flag

Capital: St. John’s
Area: Antigua - 280 sq km/108.1 sq miles;
Barbuda - 161 sq km/62.16 sq miles
Commissioner: H.E. Mr. Colin Murdoch
Find out more from the Government of  Antigua and Barbuda or the Tourism Authority

Commonwealth of Dominica

Commonwealth of Dominica Flag

Capital: Roseau
Area: 750.6 sq km / 290 sq miles
Commissioner: -
Find our more from Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica or the Tourism Authority


Grenada Flag

Capital: St. George’s
Area: 344 sq km / 133 sq miles
Commissioner: H. E. Mr. Aaron Moses
Find out more from the Government of Grenada or the Tourism Authority


Montserrat Flag

Capital: Plymouth (Brades : de facto since eruption)
Area: 102 sq km / 39 sq miles
Commissioner: -
Find out more from the Government of Montserrat  or the Tourism Department

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Kitts and Nevis Flag

Capital: Basseterre
Area : 261 sq km 
Commissioner: H. E. Mr. Larry Vaughan
Find out more info from the Government of Saint Kitts and Nevis, the Saint Kitts Tourism Authority or Nevis Tourism Authority  

Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia Flag

Capital: Castries
Area: 616 sq km / 240.6 sq miles
Commissioner: H.E. Ms. Elma Gene Isaac
Find out more from the Government of Saint Lucia  or the Tourism Authority

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Flag

Capital: Kingstown
Area: 386 sq km / 150 sq miles
Commissioner: H.E. Mr. Allan Alexander
Find out more from Government of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines or Tourism Authority

British Virgin Islands

British Virgin Islands Flag

Capital: Road Town
Area: 153 sq km / 59 sq. miles
Focal Point: Mr. E. Benito Wheatley
Find out more information the Government of the British Virgin Islands or the Tourism Board


Anguilla Flag

Capital: The Valley 
Area: 91 sq km / 35.14 sq. miles
Commissioner/Focal Point:  Mr.Kenneth Hodge
Find out more information from the Government of Aguilla or the Tourism Board


Collectivity of Martinique Flag

Capital: Fort-de-France
Area: 1,128 sq km / 436 sq. miles
Commissioner: Mr. Jean Yves Lacascade
Find out more information from Collectivity of Martinique or the Comité Martiniquais du Tourisme


Collectivity of Guadeloupe Flag

Capital: Basse-Terre 
Area: 11,628 sq km /  629 sq. miles
Commissioner: Dr. Ruddy Blonbou
Find out more from The Collectivity of Guadeloupe or the Guadeloupe Tourism Board

Subscribe to OECS Newsletter